Wednesday, August 31, 2005
I Killed For Merdeka
My name is Haji Samad from Mersing, Johor. I'm 77 years old, and dying of old age. I write this to you now to release what I've been keeping in my heart and mind for the past 50 or so years. Even my family does not know of my past. What I write to you now, I hope you will spread to others so that they know what war can create in a man. I will try to detail events that I remember and experience.
Back during the Japanese occupation, I fought for Malaysia, but really, I fought for myself. I am the only child of my family. I was 15 years old that early December 1941 when the Japanese came into my kampung in Kota Bahru, Kelantan. Three Japanese soldier came into my house, ransacking and pillaging food and supplies that they can find before leaving. My father tried to stop them but they killed him in front of my mother and I. I fought them as well but they slashed me at the stomach, and I fell. Two of them left my house while another tried to rape my mother.
The cut was not deep, and in bloody rage, I managed to grab a knife and plunge it deep into the back of the Japanese's neck. That was my first kill of many. The other Japanese heard the commotion and came back into the house. That's when my mum told me to just run, get away through the kitchen door. I wanted to run, but I cannot leave her alone. The two Japanese pulled my mother up, making her face me. They asked me to come closer. Then they thrust a sword right through my mother's body, smiling and laughing, coaxing me to fight them. They were careful not to hit vital organs in my mother's body, then they twist the sword with my mother crying in agony. They pulled out the sword, and thrust again. Amidst the crying, my mother shouted me to get away. I think it was the third thrust that I left, after hearing my mother said her final prayers.
I couldn't remember how long I ran. I was not found that day. During the night, I met a few other survivors in the forest, and most were young. I did not talk to them. I found knives and I kept two. I cannot recall the details of my first few days living alone in the forest. My father taught me well on jungle survival that I was able to find food and water easily. I was more fueled by revenge to feel hungry or thirsty most of the time.
My second kill came within a week. I came up behind a soldier and slashed his throat, and he fell. He didn't die straight away as I didn't slash deep enough, and he was shouting for help. I hid, for about a minutes I hid listening to him calling out for help amidst the blood oozing out from his throat and mouth. I came out of hiding then, looked at him right in the eyes. War then turned me into a monster. I took our my sharp knife. I stabbed him in the stomache, and remembering how my mother died, I twisted the knife that was still in his body. He body went into violent shiver at the pain, I pulled out the knife. Again, I stabbed between his right ribs, and again I twisted the knife. Again the soldier shook.
That was the turning point of my humanity. I was not only doing it for revenge, but I was enjoying it. Many days afterwards, I repeated my tactics. Everytime I spot a soldier, I will watch him for hours before making my move. Everytime I sprang at them, I will be careful not to kill them, but instead silent them enough to not allow them to shout. I will let them look at me, and let them see the way I stab and twist, stab and twist, also careful not to hit important organs. Then I leave them there to die slowly. It was an adrenalin rush torturing them before death. I smiled, I laughed, I turned into one of them.
Stab and twist. That was my lust. It feeds my already darkened soul and it was my only source of entertainment. Days come and go, I started to be partly insane. I learn human anotomy by my own knife. I learn where to stab, where to cut, where to twist to inflict the most pain, at the same time to prolong their dying minutes. A month later, I came across Malayan soldiers. I've already lost count of my kills after twenty in just three weeks. They took me in after I told them of my ability and my experience.
I was only with them for two weeks. I grew tired of battles in the forest, and capturing and questioning of surviving Japanese soldiers for information. I'm not at all thrilled with the capturing of prisoners and questionings. It slowed my time, it slowed my need to kill. One night, I killed all four Japanese prisoners and left the group.
Without realising it, I was travelling southbound. I stayed alive by hunting and fruits, and I kept killing. By the time the war ended four years later, I have not make any friends. I was 19 then, and showed myself for the first time in Negeri Sembilan. A family took me in to be one of their own. The kampung has two sympathetic Japanese soldiers who stopped getting involved in the war since early 1942 and has stayed in the kampung, under the guise that they are still loyal to their nation, but has actually decided to help out in the kampung.
For two months I was with my new family in 1945, when I decided to be on my way again. I left the house in the middle of the night, headed southbound, but not before I have taken care of two victims. My hatred for the Japanese was too great to leave them alive in the kampung.
It was in Mersing that I settled down. I was accepted into the community, got married and had children. I was content. No one knew of my past. I changed my name. Samad is not my given name. Then I got to know of Merdeka. I respect the late Tunku Abdul Rahman for his diplomacy in giving Malaysia its independence. I do not have the patience for diplomacy.
My contribution to my country is by taking people's lives. I am not ashamed of that, but I cannot make that an example for my family. I am at awed at how the Japanese shifted from military strength to industrial strength. Until today I still hate them. Nothing can change that.
Life does not come without irony. My daughter has a Japanese husband. She claims he's a very nice man. They got married in 1985. I gave her my blessing, but I did not meet him, nor did I attend their wedding. She did not understand why, nor did my wife or my two sons. I only tell them that I grew up in the Japanese occupation and left it at that.
Forever my hatred for the Japanese will be in me, and I believe it will follow me to my death. I do not regret it. If it wasn't my thirst for revenge and my hate, I will not have lived until today. I have sometimes believe that I was the one who killed my mother, by killing that Japanese soldier. It might have turned out differently, but I cannot change the past. Even if I can, I will do the same, killing the soldier than letting him have my mother.
Malaysia was liberated by diplomacy, but the road to freedom was by blood. I wish for all Malaysians to understand, at least to relive how it feels like to be a prisoner in your own home, only then can we understand freedom. Happy 48th Birthday to Malaysia, and thank you Mr Javalier, for having the time to read what I had to write.
I can die in peace now, that the skeletons are out of the closet.
Truthfully,
Haji Samad Solehuddin
Saturday, August 20, 2005
Are You A Psychic? Part 1
Are You A Psychic? Part 1
The following is an interview between a reporter and Javalier in regards to psychic ability. The interview contents should not be taken seriously, nor should it be totally ignored.
Media: Are you a psychic?
Jav: I'm not. Far from it actually.
Media: But you do have some degree of psychic ability, I suppose?
Jav: Well, I do have some hint of ability within the psychic understanding, but I cannot at all claim to be having any psychic ability. There are too many areas of psychic, from telepathy, telekinesis, seance, and many more. I will not attempt to explain what they are, but it's enough to convince you that I'm not even at 1% of having anyone of the psychic ability.
Media: Okay then, explain to me your definition of psychic.
Jav: A psychic is someone who has control over their psychic ability, be it telepathy or seance. To just chance upon a telepathic message is not a psychic, but someone who have some degree of that telepathic skills within the psychic line. To just accidentally experience a psychic ability is just a common thing for many of us, but it could be that they're starting to develop a psychic ability, or not at all. Like I said, it's the ability to control a psychic ability that makes a person a psychic.
Media: Okay then, I won't call you a psychic, but you did say that you have a hint of psychic ability. Is this considered also a common accidental feeling? May I know what ability that is?
Jav: In all honesty, I would say that what I have it not an 'accidental experience' as I have been facing it for a long period in life. But I have no control over it, and also, it's to a very small, or I would even say miniscule degree. Therefore, I'm just a man with a hint of psychic ability. To your question on what my ability is, it's within the line of seance. But only a superbly small hint of skill at that.
Media: Are you saying you're able to see ghosts? Or talk to them? Something like that M. Knight Shyamalan show, Sixth Sense? That's really cool!!
Jav: No! That's why I say it's a small hint. I'm able to feel them most of the time, more so than seeing them, or even communicate with them. Easy enough to say that out of 100 times I feel a ghost or energy, I will see only once to thrice. Communicate, I have no idea. I do tell them verbally that I do not wish for them to be around me, but so far it did not work. They'll still be lingering around.
Media: Why do you say 'ghost or energy'?
Jav: Because I really don't know what I feel. A ghost,... no, I would rather call them spirits. A spirit is a soul that's still here on earth without its casing or body. An energy is not a spirit. It's a residue of a large amount of energy left behind upon the death of a person. Let's say a person is about to be murdered, his fear, panic, anger and other emotions blasts out from his body until he really get killed which releases a vast energy around that area he died at. Now, a psychic or a person who can feel energy would be able to sometimes see the event happening again, but the spirit is not really there. The easiest way to give a difference is that a spirit does not really repeat its actions, while an energy will repeat its actions.
Media: Care to give an example?
Jav: Let's put a scenario. At night, you look out your window and you see someone jumping off a building. You scream out of shock, you see the body falling but suddenly vanish into thin air. And then you notice that the person is back up that building, ready to jump off again. And then he jumps off, mid-flight he disappears, and this repeats. That's energy. He must have felt total anguish and depression that led to a crazy choice of ending his life.
Media: So then, please tell me an example of your own experience. I'm sure you have tons, but just one that you cannot forget. Before that, can you tell me how one knows whether they have psychic ability?
Jav: I don't have any direct way to see if a person is psychic, but I have read, and have come to believe that a certain line on the palm does tell whether you have some psychic ability or you don't.
Media: Psychic line on a palm? How's that? So you believe in palmistry?
Jav: No, I don't believe in palmistry. I don't think anyone can really tell what you future is from your palm, but to tell a past or current event is an open question. Now, look at your active palm, that is, if you're left handed, look at your left palm, and your right palm if you're right handed. We all have three distinct deep lines, I have no idea what they're called. However, I describe them as first, from edge of palm to anywhere between the middle finger and the index finger, people call this the love line I think. Second is from middle of wrist to the area between the index finger and the thumb, I believe people call this the life line. And the third is a shorter one that extends from somewhere in the middle of the palm, towards where the life line is between the index finger and thumb.
Media: Okay, I have all those three lines. And a few more actually.
Jav: Right. There are several other not-so-deep lines. One extends from the middle of the wrist towards the middle finger. This is called the career line. And another comes out from the career line towards the ring finger. This is very faint, but it's there, and it's called the finance line. Another line is a short one, that some people have and some don't, which is between the life line and the thumb. Now, the psychic line, which is what you want to know, is the line that starts from middle of the wrist towards the little finger.
Media: Hmm... I don't have that.
Jav: Not many do, but quite a number do have it. Like I said, from what I've read and have come to believe, the deeper this psychic line is, the stronger the psychic ability you have. Mine can be seen, but it's not deep. That explains my ability to feel spirits or energies. One of my siblings, however, has quite a deep one, which explains why that sibling more prone to feeling spirits and energies and have seen 'things' more often that I have.
Media: Interesting... so you're telling me it runs in the family?
Jav: I don't think this ability is hereditary. It comes to whoever is ready to embrace it. Or it just comes no matter who you are. I don't know. But I do know that if you already have it, it will only get stronger in time, as long as you're ready for the advancement. It will come naturally.
Media: Then why haven't you improve on it? I would surely like my ability to grow stronger.
Jav: Would you really want to see the spirit you're feeling?? Would you like to enter the toilet at some public places and see more people than there should be?? I don't. Therefore, I am not ready.
Media: Haha, I get what you mean. You say quite a few people have these lines, so they can feel spirits?
Jav: I don't really know. Perhaps their ability is more attuned to other people. I have seen psychic skills that lets a person know if someone else is sick or in trouble. Or to feel your parents needing you and when you call them up, you find that they were just thinking of you. It comes in many types. You know, everyone in this world has psychic ability, but they are not aware of it. I'm sure at least 9 out of 10 people has thought of a song, and upon turning the radio on, that song plays. Or another very good example, why is it that a phone's ringing tone at its loudest, placed somewhere beside you, does not shock you when it rings. It's because you've already received the signal that the phone is going to ring, but was not aware of it.
Media: Okay, just tell me one experience you faced that you can still remember.
Jav: This happened in 2002. It's not scary, but its an experience nonetheless. I was coming home at about 11:45pm or so, and while taking a turn somewhere 2 minutes to my house, I saw a boy in blue in the middle of the streets. He was smiling at me, I smiled back, but when I looked around, all house gates are closed and lights are switched off. I felt weird, so when I drove on, I looked at the rear view mirror and he was not there.
Media: Perhaps he was not staying there and about to go home, and have moved out of the sight of the rear view mirror when you looked.
Jav: That may be possible, but why then did the car behind me swerve to avoid nothingness? It means the driver saw the boy as well. I cannot say if the driver is psychic or not, but the car really swerves to avoid something at the middle of the street that was not there.
Media: Maybe a cat was crossing the street.
Jav: Nevermind. Think what you like, I'm just telling it like it is. So, I continued driving. Dogs are already howling seeing things, and upon reaching my house gate, it was already open. One of my siblings have already opened the door asking me to get into the house as soon as possible. Surely this is not a fluke. I saw something, felt many things, and my sibling was already aware of things out there. I guess that night had all the right environment and moisture and whatever to really turn up the spirits' existence. Anyway, the very next day, there was a man jogging at the same street. I purposely stopped the car to look in the rearview mirror and he doesn't show. But the car in which he was suppose to pass by was there. When I turned around, he is still jogging away. Okay, up to you to say that I looked too soon or too late, I'm just answering your questions.
Media: Okay, don't get mad at me! I'm just being logical. Alright, let's just say that you have this skill, how often do you feel it? How strong is it?
Jav: Not strong at all. I don't 'seek' to feel them. If they are around, and their energy is a little stronger than other spirits, yes, I can feel them and know the direction of where they are. I will know if they are coming closer or going further.
Media: That's nice to know. You should really be spooked. Oh, yes, I just remembered. Congratulations on your new baby! I love watching Kingdom Hospital. Here's my question. Did you feel anything at the hospital?
Jav: In the hospitals, even non-psychic have a chance to experience something.
Media: So you did feel something??
Jav: Yes, I did experience something slightly bizarre, but not to the extent that will give me nightmares.
Media: Can you share it with me?
Jav: Sure, but not today.
Media: Okay, I will meet up with you again. Thank you for taking some time off for this interview.
Jav. Pleasure's all mine.
Friday, August 19, 2005
New Member To My Family
I am not going to post on anything today, but just a dedication of this song lyrics to the new member of my family since Wednesday, 17th August 2005. Arrived at 1:45pm, weighing 3.51 kg.
Here's to you...
CREED - "With Arms Wide Open"
Well I just heard the news today
It seems my life is going to change
I closed my eyes, begin to pray
Then tears of joy stream down my face
With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I'll show you everything
With arms wide open
With arms wide open
Well I don't know if I'm ready
To be the man I have to be
I'll take a breath, I'll take her by my side
We stand in awe, we've created life
With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I'll show you everything
With arms wide open
Now everything has changed
I'll show you love
I'll show you everything
With arms wide open
With arms wide open
I'll show you everything ...oh yeah
With arms wide open..wide open
[Guitar Break]
If I had just one wish
Only one demand
I hope he's not like me
I hope he understands
That he can take this life
And hold it by the hand
And he can greet the world
With arms wide open...
With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I'll show you everything
With arms wide open
Now everything has changed
I'll show you love
I'll show you everything
With arms wide open
With arms wide open
I'll show you everything..oh yeah
With arms wide open....wide open
Friday, August 12, 2005
Wise Sayings.... Or Are They??
Seriously, I find a person totally distant whenever they think that a saying can solve whatever issues that another person brings up. Imagine you go crying to someone and saying "I've just lost my beloved" and he replies "Weep not for the departed, only weep for the living." Or, you go to someone with career problems and he says "Don't be too worried about your career's problem, worry more for the problem's career, because the problem is facing a tough fight against your persistence, and the problem will lose." Yeah, these crappy advices in this paragraph are all created in 5 minutes of my time. They sound smart, but they are not! There is no human touch in advices like this. It's like saying "Hahaha.... you are facing a problem?? I'm not, see. So therefore, let me rub it in about my non-problem status by saying something smart. Let's see... how about 'For the world to be at peace, war must be declared upon war, because negative against negative is positive.'" What the crap?!?
There are several sayings that relate more closely to the person. Among those I've heard on movies or have seen is in Harry Potter 1, when Harry was looking at the mirror to his parents, and the Professor Engelbert Humperdink (Hahaha!!! I don't READ Harry Potter, okay! So bear with me, it's the old dude!) said "Do not dwelve on the past, lest you forget to live." or something to that message. I find that to be a good message. At least he didn't say "Miss not the time with your parents, instead, miss your parent's time with you." The message like the Prof Humperdink (crap, what's his name?! It's sounds something like that!) said pops an understanding in your mind, and is a lot better than a message that's confusing and makes you look stupid.
If however, you have no choice but to repeat a 'smart' message, please follow up with a layman method to address the issue. Robert did follow up after his "Don't work for money, make money work for you", but his follow up, my friends, are to use the money you currently have. What if you don't have enough? How to make money from zilch?! He didn't say anything about that, did he?
Personally, I think that sayings are very good. I have one on my fridge that says "Children's laughter makes a home". I have sayings at the back of my head that jump to me whenever I am in need of motivation in a certain area, and these motivational sayings may come from friends, something you read, or even from a rapper!
My own motivation to gain courage, especially to consciously do something that's risky or shameful, and especially when trying to approach a complete cute girl stranger to befriend in the past, would be "If you think you can't, you've already lost without even trying." At least here it's not a 'smart' message, playing with words. It's direct... and it makes sense. If I just look at her, forever we won't be friends unless fate makes us get introduced by others. But if I at least approach her, there is even that 1% chance or even higher, we'll just never know! Enough to say that I have had done that thrice and ended up with two friends. Or maybe I've done that more than thrice, but that three occasions was really a shivering and heart-stomping situation.
Other courage motivation I derive from Eminem's Lose Yourself that says "If you had one shot, one opportunity, to sieze everything you ever wanted. One moment. Would you capture it or just let it slip?" Direct advice from a rapper. It's a good one. It keeps me (and hopefully all of you) on your toes to not just let opportunity goes by. Lastly, when I'm at a 50% chance on deciding whether or not to do something and time is running out, the best advice ever to push me to do it would be Nike's "Just Do It".
Speaking on Nike, the new advert about that jogger who runs and then have a conversation against himself, whereby one wants to continue running, and the other doesn't want, is quite nice. But it reminds me oh-so-much of Smeagol/Gollum of Lord Of The Rings. Nike should star Smealgol wearing nike shoes climbing mountains instead.
Smeagol: "We needs to climbs this mountain"
Gollum: "No we don't, my love, we be real good rights here."
Smeagol: "No! Mountain calls for us. We needs to go."
Gollum: "Hobbitsess in the mountain. Remember how Hobbitsess trickses you?"
Smeagol: "But we wears precious Nike shoes. We can outruns them!"
Thursday, August 11, 2005
Matrix Begins
Currently the media is leading the public astray about the real situation on the haze that's affecting many parts of Malaysia. It is not Indonesia's fault. Well, to a certain extend, it is their forest fires that's contributing to this haze, but seriously, why would they do an Iraq on their own soil when they're not being conquered. (Doing an Iraq = burning own oil plants). There are more unseen powers at work here.
In reality, there are some species that does not rely on oxygen who have mapped out ways to taking over earth. South-East Asia is the easiest target for now due to the humid and dry season. So, it's easiest to stop sunlight and fotosintesis beginning from South-East Asia and moving on from there. People, we are in the verge of losing our humanity here. What firefighters faced are fires, but no one has ever seen who started the fire. And that, is the key question of all.
Who actually started the fire? Many crop circles have proven that they have landed there, but they did not start a fire, as crop fire dies fast, and in a cold weathered country, it will not cause so much haze. We don't have crop circles here in Malaysia, so we cannot confirm their landing, but they did land, somehow or rather. Fishes have started to die in ponds. They have learned well from War Of The Worlds and they're getting rid of nature first, before harvesting us humans as energy source.
As much as we try to deny it, my friends.... Matrix has begun.
Monday, August 08, 2005
Bullies Turned Heroes
First of all, I do not condone bullying or even extortion that happens quite rampant in schools. However, it happens in many schools as much as teachers or headmaster/mistress try to avoid it from happening. Anyway, this is not about me being bullied. I was lucky enough to be in good tidings with the junior member of the extortion bullies in my school. Good tidings because we share the same hobby that many others in the class does not.
Anyway, he was involved in extortion yes. Even in Form (Secondary) 1, he extorts money from other Form 1 kids, with the help of his other bully members from Form 2 all the way till Form 5. Now, one thing to note is that by Form 3, his seniors have all finished schooling and he started to lead the new bully and extortion team. Quite a havoc having these bullies in the school, with police cars coming once every two weeks to bring one of them to the police station, as well as having bombs explosion in the toilets (kalium dumped into the toilet bowl), firecrackers breaking window panes, teachers' cars scratched, well, you get the point. While these are happening, it's very interesting to note that all of these bullies are active in sports, especially basketball.
To cut the story short, by the time we entered Form 5, they're about 15 members strong. They have stopped extortion since Form 4. Only thing they do is to create problems in schools. You know, the common rebel and bullies. Pushing younger kids around, making them get them drinks, things like that. I have totally no idea what possessed these dudes to suddenly have a change in Form 5, but what they did I cannot forget until today, because... well,.. let's start another introduction.
From before I entered Secondary 1, this school's sportday have been won by one house and one house only. Up till Form 4, this house have always won, due to superior athletic skills and the likes. I wonder if the principal hand picked the house members rather than going random, since he's the teacher in charge of that house. None of the bullies ever took part in any of these sports, as it's "part of the school system", therefore it's not cool taking part in school system. So it comes to the start of Form 5, whereby a theft occured.
The house list of students was stolen. Students are again asked to tell teachers which house they belong to. Some students stayed loyal to their house, some lied to the teachers. Suffice to say that nearly all students were truthful to the teachers, except for the bullies. And what do we have?!
During the FIRST house meeting, all 15 bullies turned up in the same house (my house colour). No idea how they chose which house to be in. What's interesting is that during these house meetings, we are supposed to elect captains of each sports (ie basketball, soccer, field & tracks, bla bla bla) and guess what? Nearly each of these sports department were headed by one of the bullies. One bully will elect one of their own, another will second. And few more potentials were chosen. But these bullies won. Kids are afraid to not vote them, in fear of retaliation outside of class hours.
And that year, we had one of the most grueling training sessions ever. It was part scary but part hilarious seeing bullies adorning house coloured shirts, training the students in the respective sports like a drill sergeant. I mean, here we have school bullies, who are rebelious and mean, despised by teachers. Here also we have school bullies, who are in the school system, going all out in their coaching and training.
Suffice to say we won the sports day that year. No thanx to these bullies. It was a sight to see eight out of ten of the bullies being the ones who pulled in the tug-of-war. Talk about leaving one good impression before leaving the school. Then, after SPM, there was campfire of using school clothes in place of wood in the parking lot, but that's another story.
Thursday, August 04, 2005
Lottery Emails
In the news today, someone was duped into giving away some money in order to pay for the transfer of a lottery winnings amounting to some millions ringgit to be sent to the lottery winner. To get RM2.6 million, the 'winner' need to send about RM6,000 for courier cost. Why not just tell the lottery to keep 100,000 ringgit and use that to courier and win RM2.5 million instead?!
Anyway, it's a con job, for them just to get your money and run away with it. Poor victim has to pay up the loan sharks an axorbant amount of money back. While these emails are old, why are people still falling for it? It's coz' internet user numbers grow everyday, and therefore there's also some new innocent user who will just be fooled.
Dear sir, I am the grandson of some rich uncle of some awkward named country. My uncle has died and has left me USD3billion. I cannot transfer the money so I need your help. I will give you half of the USD3billion if you can help transfer a fixed amount of money first to my personal account. <-- Very Commonly Seen. I guess the law of that country is so screwed up that wills can only be processed with outside interference.
It real life, we do receive some kind of coupon to scratch, and upon scratching, we find that we win the TOP PRIZE of electrical products, bla bla. Each and every freaking coupon will make you win the TOP PRIZE. It's coz' to get that electrical product, you need to buy another electrical product. So it goes like this,.... You win a washing machine, television, fridge and vibrator! Congratulations! Please buy just ONE product from our list of products, present the coupon and get your winning prizes.
Just buy one of these, and win your TOP PRIZE: -
Rice Cooker - RM25,000
Mosquito Killer - RM25,000
Desk Light - RM25,000
Pistol - RM50,000
Nuclear Warhead - RM1,000,000
What a crap of cow dung (nicer word for bullshit). How is it possible for companies to resort to this kind of advertising just to get money?! It's like having KFC saying, buy Zinger burger for RM20 and get one piece chicken absolutely free. No moving cost. No stamp duty. No hidden fee. Might as well say "Get a Proton Gen-2 absolutely free, with a minimum purchase of RM75,000" or "Write a slogan and win a bungalow! With just an initial investment of RM1.5million for the contest form." Get it today! :D
I'd rather face horrible Tora advertisement than seeing purely stupid marketing strategies that lead customers astray. At least that dude with the big eyes, fake smile and damn cool acting playing with toys in Tora adverts are not cheating the customers. Well, they do, especially with the toys moving on its own. But well, at least you don't waste so much money if you really do fall for the toy-moving-on-its-own ploy. Actually it didn't move on its own. Ah-Kim pushed it. "Tora datang lagi, dengan mainan pengorek telinga. Lihat adik-adik. Lihat adik ini korek telinganya. Wahhh... alangkah bersihnya telinga adik ini. Adik juga boleh korekkan telinga kawan adik. Mari adik-adik, sama-sama kita korek telinga kawan-kawan. Wahh.. hebat. Dapatkan hari ini, mainan korek telinga! Tora!"
Amidst all these marketing ploy, there's one area where you can win in law. Should you see those signs "Once broken, considered sold" and you really would love the product, go break it! Serious! Go break it, coz' once you break it, it's considered sold. Sold, as a past tense for sell, means that the item has completed its transaction of changing owner. In other words, once broken, it's considered sold, and therefore does not belong to the shop anymore. Congratulations, go ahead and get all the items you want! They're free! See, I do show my good side by giving you tips on how to purchase items for no payment.
What's this gotta do with lottery emails?! Should you receive that lottery email stating that you win, write back to them and say "I haven't die yet, you bloody nephew of mine! How dare you tell people that I've died! For that, I will change my will. You will not get a cent from me anymore!"
Tuesday, August 02, 2005
Bad Delay
Why I can't do work? First of all, I need my email. This IT dude didn't configure my email client for me, and for me to configure my own email client, I am to give administrator password coz' only administrator can configure my email. Next I tried to access the server for my own personal folder. Oh... server not found. Can't locate! My IT skills in Suse Linux too weak?? Maybe, but really cannot locate the server. I can't change my time too, now it's 3:08pm but it says on my PC as 9:13am. To change time, need administrator password. Lastly, the most ridiculous of ALL craps, is that once I leave my computer to enter screen saver, I need to key in administrator password to get out of screen saver. Hello, my friend, where are you? IT guy has not been seen in the past one week. Aiyoh.... even adding printer needs password. Why not just create a correct profile for me to use rather than asking me to use the PC directly, coz' they haven't set up my profile.
Computers and work aside, there's nothing else for me to complain about. :D Feels like eating KFC.... or maybe A&W Fried Chicken since I have been fed the thoughts that A&W serves the best fried chicken. :D I used to like A&W back in secondary school, but after that they got quite dry. I guess it should be okay again now. Also found out Madam Kwan's is something like Secret Recipe, not like those expensive gila Kelantanese restaurant same level as Madam Kwan's in KLCC. Still, I think KFC is the only chicken that still taste good after 5 hours, while other chickens tend to harden up.
Thursday, July 28, 2005
Working For Three Bosses
I have not been updating any posts lately coz' this entire week I have been busy with some real estate stuff involving all three of many bosses of my company. It can get real headache trying to compile documents of three bosses into one.
Imagine this.....
Boss 1: All documents must have a date. Must be Arial 11. Must be 1.5 line spacing. Loves indentation. Likes numbering from 1 to many many many many. For letters, likes to have everything written in the letter from page 1 to the last page before he signs.
Boss 2: Text must be Arial 11, titles must be Tahoma 12. Every document must have a header at top left about what the document is about. Pages must be "Page 1 of 10" at center of footer. Front of documents must have big letters in the center stating what the document is. Loves alphabet as bullets. Main title must be A. Sub of that is 1. And sub-sub is a) and sub sub sub is i), ii), iii),... you get the idea. For letters, likes to have ONE page letter, followed by attachment of document.
Boss 3: All documents must have reference number. Prefers Arial 10, and 1 line spacing. Hates indentation where unnecessary. Page must be "1" or "2" or "3" located at bottom right of page. Prefers the 1.0, followed by 1.1 and then any indentation will be 1.1.1 and 1.1.2 and so on. For letters, likes to have two to three page letter, followed by many appendixes.
Okay, now. My task is to obtain two documents from Boss 1 and Boss 2 respectively, and compile the documents into a "document which doesn't look like it came from two documents" and then present it to Boss 3. Before giving to Boss 3, Boss 1 wanna see how the new document turns out because he doesn't want me to take out anything from the document I got from him. So is Boss 2!
What happens next is pure havoc. Have to create documents according to the formatting the boss likes. I never knew what they like until this week, and taadah, we have how I described my bosses' likes and dislikes on document formatting above.
Altogether, it took me a total of seven hours straight in completing this work. What an experience! My face got so oily I manage to fill up one whole canister of cooking oil. I have just sold it to the canteen guy below. Disgusting!!
Head is beginning to blow, but I'm happy that it's already near 5pm. Once I get out of the office, gonna jump on my WCG 2005 scooter, wear my SHOEI helmet, start the bike and head off home. Problem is, I don't know how to drive a bike. Come to think of it, I don't even own that WCG 2005 scooter. Nevermind, I'll just scoot along in my car.
Monday, July 25, 2005
Migraine
Due to migraine, I have opted not to write today, but since I'm already writing, might as well ramble on about very ridiculous stuff. Headache,.. headache ah,.. aiyo headache, headache, HeadAche, HEADACHE! Use Uphamol, bla bla bla, damn radio advert.
It's interesting how radio adverts can just get stuck in people's head. One that stuck on me a loooong time was a cacat Fisherman's Friend advert. It went something like....
Cool Friends, Real Friends,
Craazyy Friends, e-Friends,
Everybody Need A Friend Like Fisherman's Friend,
Fisherman's Friend!!
*Fisherman's Friend, that's what friends are for!
Real cool lyrics, man! Tabik. Salute. Even I am not capable of coming up with such lyrics. Okay, to stop being sarcastic, I won't talk about radio adverts. If I do, it'll be in another post dedicated to radio adverts.
Current Happenings! Roti Canai price rising up!! It's totally crazy. I understand mamak like Lotus and Nasi Kandar Mamak charging RM1.00 for roti canai coz' they think they so great and all able to open several outlets all around Malaysia. But to have just a normal restoran mamak now charging 90sens, hello?! Since when milo ais rised from RM1.50 to RM1.70?? Kedah still offering Milo Ais at RM1.00 and roti canai at 70sens. Crazy.
Also, who watched the Conspiracy Theory shown on Astro on Saturday. A colleague watched it, seems logical. That the first video footage taken on the moon was faked. Several reasons are: -
1. The camera was very stable on a super-low gravity environment
2. Crosshair on camera (which should always remain on the screen) can be hidden by objects moving in the scene.
3. Footage taken away from landing site has the exact same terrain as the one taken at the landing site.
So, now,... what's real and what's not? Another thing too. With technology of successful cloning, I see two products that will be undervalued very soon. Firstly is coin collecting. Current machine can easily create a 1945 coin at will. How will we then know if a coin is genuine or not?? The other product is crystal. Crystals, be it obsidian, topaz, opal, amethyst, nokia, citrine and the rest (kidding about nokia), are created by high impact, which IS currently able to be man-made! And man-made crystal are perfect, not flawed in any way! So now, to buy a REAL crystal, might as well find a flawed one for genuinity, however, if man can create perfect crystal, it won't be difficult to add in flawness to the crystal. We'll see what happens in the near future.
Before I sign off, Swarovski Crystal creates their OWN crystal, by mixing glass and carbon. I'm not attacking Swarovski, coz' they themselves admits so,... so,... why are people buying expensive carbonated glass? The only advantage is it does not get broken, only chipped. Anyway, I'm off.
Friday, July 22, 2005
Mamak Etiquette
Warning: Lewd joke ahead.
Foreigners and rich dudes/dudettes who has not experienced eating at mamak stalls, or are still new to eating at mamak stalls may find this post helpful. This post will cover several questions you may have about eating at a mamak stall.
While the word mamak literally means Indian muslims, the context in Malaysia has changed �mamak stall� to comprise a collection of stalls, where ONE would have to really be a mamak-owned stall. Collection of Malay or Chinese food stalls is not considered mamak. In the guide below, I will use �mamak� as waiter, cook and anyone you�re interacting with.
Step 1: Stand/Sit and Point/Call
Upon reaching the table you wish to sit at, check the seats. Sometimes there are drink stains or the seat may be wet. If the mamak is already waiting for your order, point to the places you wish to have him clean, be it the chair or the table, and say �Lap sikit� (pronounced Lupp-See-Kate) meaning �Wipe a bit�. Not �lap-see-kate� please� you DON'T WANT a mamak doing a lap dance for you. Anyway, you will see that mamaks go an extra mile by wiping everything though you only asked him to wipe a bit. Sit down, and go to the next step.
Step 2: Ordering Drinks
We usually start with ordering drinks. Most mamak will not have a drink menu, and that�s the beauty of it! You can basically order most drinks (no alcohol though) or even mix them, or even ask for less ice (�Kurang Manis�) or less sweetness (�Kurang Ais�). Two examples here is �Teh O Ais Kurang Manis� means �Tea without milk, not so sweet� or �Milo Ais Kurang Ais� meaning �Milo, less sugar�. Don�t go crazy and ask for �Kopi Panas Kurang Ais� or �Air Kosong Kurang Manis�.
Another beauty is to add either lime (�Limau�) or asam boi (sour plum). Ice Lemon Tea will be �Teh O Ais Limau�, and Lemon Pepsi will be �Pepsi Ais Limau� though people hardly order the latter. Adding asam boi usually applies to things without milk. Do not add asam boi to your milo, it�ll taste horrid!
Finally, another beauty is to add two different drinks. Nescafe and Milo will be Neslo, taking the �Nes� of Nescafe and �Lo� of Milo. You can go crazy as well, by ordering Coke + Milo + Watermelon but I�d advice against it. Others combos would be Nes-Ko for Nescafe and Coffee, Mi-Teh for Milo and Tea (if you like it). The mother of all combos is Horlicks, Milo, Coffee and Tea, which will be �LickMiKoTeh�, pronounced as �Lick My Co-teh��. BUT� it brings to a whole different meaning. Suffice to say that if the mamak is gay, he�d happily go under the table. Also avoid two doses of Milo by �Lickmitelo� which will bring the same action from a gay mamak. Order them differently please.
Step 3: Ordering Food
With damn many varieties of food that also cannot be fit onto a menu, just ask them to name what can be ordered. Be amazed at the bullet speed of menu items that comes out from his mouth. Simply put, there are more than 8 varieties of roti canai, more than 8 varieties of nasi goreng, more than 8 varieties of noodles and ways to cook it. You get the point. These varieties will only increase in the future, just as fast as technologies. If you�re new, just ask them to recommend.
For simplicity, these are the types of roti canai in the market: - Roti Canai/Biasa; Roti Telur; Roti Planta, Roti Sardin, Roti Pisang, Roti Paper/Tissue, Roti Bom, Roti Naan, and I have not included Murtabak, Tosei, Capati, Puree and others.
Nasi goreng comes in Nasi Goreng Cina; Pattaya, Kampung, USA, Mamak, Cili Padi, Ketam, Ayam, Mutiara, Daging Masak Merah, Padprik,� and damn lots more! I don�t even wanna go into noodles.
Thinking about it again, I highly suggest you to tour other customer�s tables and see what they�re eating. When you see what you like, call the mamak over and point over to that delicious dish you see. Dish as in food, not girls. Say "Saya nak yang tu!" (trans: I want that one), and point properly at the food, not the girl/guy eating it. Mamak does not work �that� way.
Step 4: Waiting for Food
Your drinks will come in a jiffy. Regular customers usually pay at the end of their meal, but newcomers usually need to pay the moment the drink reaches the table. So, pay up. And while waiting for the food, you can just do anything like talking on the phone, smoking, laugh, sing, play hide-and-seek, play catching, cry, lick back the mamak�s koteh (no, actually this one cannot) or just sit quietly.
During this time, you will be visited by someone saying �Cik, mintak tolong sikit cik?� or �Cik, derma sikit cik�. This is very common at food stalls, blind beggars who asks for donation. Now, some are truly genuine, while some are working in a syndicate. It�s up to you to decide. In my personal experience, I have seen beggars getting up to RM300 per night and changing it for bigger notes with stall owners. There are some who will hang out with other so-called blind beggars smoking away outside the perimeter. Your risk to donate. If you don�t wish to donate, usually patrons will say �Takde� meaning �don�t have�.
When the food arrives, pay for it and enjoy your meal.
Step 5: Paying Up
If you were not required to pay when your meals arrive, it�s time to call relevant stall owners to pay up. Just wave to a mamak by saying �boss!� and say �Kira� which translate to count or calculate. Don't mispronounced it as "Mamak, Gila!". They should cost quite okay as compared to eating in a fast-food restaurant. If you find extra charges or that the price is exuberant, recall your entire dinner, did you order Lickmykoteh?? Yea, you did didn�t you? No wonder it�s expensive.
Thursday, July 21, 2005
Tribute To Radio Gila
Back in the early 1990�s, there were two groups of crazy people who decided to record how their own radio station would be like. One was Kopy Kat Klan and the other was Radio Gila, and both made their so-called radio station onto cassettes (yea, during these times, CD was still new). I believed Kopy Kat Klan made two �albums�. Anyway, after all these years, due to overplaying of their cassettes, some things are still in mind.
If you�re a fan of Radio Gila, and have it, do contact me coz� I think it�s damn difficult to find a copy of it nowadays. I can remember commentaries, songs like Ti Or Or, and others. Below is one of the song lyrics in Radio Gila. The word in brackets are just the translation of the malay words. Sad to say, while I have an idea what they mean, I dunno the proper translation of the Chinese words.
Anyone with cassettes of Kopy Kat Klan and Radio Gila, please contact me!!
===================
My one so long,
And his one dark and strong,
His friend one white like sotong (squid),
My brother�s kena potong (got cut),
John�s one thick like king kong�s,
Jim�s one macam kangkung,
Peter�s one smells like lap cheong,
The others look really ching chong,
And when I ask her to blow it,
She said that I would have to wash it,
Otherwise she will not do it,
She said it�s unhygienic,
My one so long,
And his one dark and strong,
His friend one white like sotong,
My brother�s kena potong�
My brother�s kena potonnggg�.
*Commentary right after the song*
There you have it folks. The group of Seri Devi barber singing about getting a haircut.Wednesday, July 20, 2005
Dogs Are Barking
This is not the Part 4 of my ghost story. It�s just something I feel like writing today. For maximum impact, please read this at night before bed, in the calmness of your own room. But, even if you don�t, it�s okay, because it�s going to happen tonight nonetheless. I�m not writing about me now, I�m writing about you!
It�s already 11:27pm right now, and dogs have started to bark outside seeing things humans cannot see. Sometimes I wonder if these things are just outside or also in my house, or even in my room right now! Feeling quite frightened, I continue surfing the net, reading a ghost story on someone�s blog. I remembered a Chinese show that says ghosts also enjoy listening to ghost stories. Is it the same with reading ghost story? Is a ghost behind me, leaning over my shoulder also reading this same blog I�m reading?
I feel as if someone is standing behind me now. I did a quick turn. No, no one. It�s just my imagination from reading this stupid ghost blog. My senses started to sharpen now, I really do feel as if someone is in my room standing behind me. Damn, if only I have a mirror in front of me, I can always monitor what�s going on behind me than having to look around ever so often. Worst, with the stereo�s music, it�s not helping me hear any footsteps or breathing.
With my sharpened senses now, I know someone is outside my window. I dare not look out, but whoever it is, is looking right at me. As much as I�d like to ignore it, it knows I know it�s there. I believe I have somewhat called to it, and to other ghosts as well, subconsciously. They can sense fear from far away, just as shark sense blood, and my fear is ever increasing reading this blog.
Right now, many of the ghosts are descending and floating to my house, those that are already in my house are slowly seeping into my room. Standing and floating around me reading along or sensing along what I�m reading.
Crap, I feel like peeing now. Shouldn�t have drank so much. I dare not to go the toilet because I know that when I look into the mirror, I can see myself just standing there, staring at me instead of copying my actions. I know that if I even glance a look into the toilet bowl, there will be a face, dressed in Chinese opera make-up staring up at me. What? Am I suppose to pee at that face? No, I will run and find another person to be with, probably my parents, probably my siblings. Crap, this means I�ll not sleep in my room tonight. I need to pee. I want to pee. I really feel like peeing! Dammit! I�m scared.
If I have to face those ghosts in the toilet, what would it be like to sleep tonight? I may have to sleep with the lights on, instead of the usual dim lights or total darkness. Once I settle myself to sleep with the lights off, I will start hearing sounds of shuffling in my room. No, that won�t be the wind making a tissue move on the tissue box, that will be someone�s head moving, just looking at me, smiling his mocking smile. Something will creep up by bed, looking first for my feet. I can almost feel its hands grabbing my feet now, eventhough it�s going to happen later tonight in bed!
I don�t know how I know this, but later in bed, my drawers will open ever so softly, a bloodied severed hand will creep out. It will start moving on the floor towards me, letting me hear that shuffling sound I�ve always wondered about, in the darkness of my room. I will try to ignore it, thinking it�s not real, but I will know it is. It will get onto my bed, to put itself over my mouth and keep me from screaming. When I can�t scream, the cupboards of my room will open wide, and that�s when a woman with long hair and mocking laughter will come out floating towards me.
I will try to get up and run, but I will not be able to fight the hands that will already grab my legs. When I look to my left, I will be seeing a very grotesque dead man pinning my hands to the bed. The ghost that is outside my window right now, yes, right now, that�s the dead man who will be holding my hands later. He will be going to lick my neck, once the blood ooze out from it later. The lady will hover over me, putting her face close to mine for me to see. Pusses, blood and cracked skin will accompany those dark black eyes. She will take her sharp nails, cuts a little skin at my neck, and then proceed to plunge her fingers into my stomache. That will be the end of me tonight. Will I really die tonight?!
No, I don�t think so. This is just my imagination running wild from reading this stupid blog. But no, this blog was not written by the blogger. No, it�s written by the lady, just now when I was at dinner. What I�m reading is not real. It�s what the lady is planning for me. Yes, I will face those things when I go to pee and brush teeth later. I will see my mirror-self staring and smiling at me, I will see the opera make-up face in the toilet bowl. I will switch off the lights to sleep, to hear shuffling and breathing in the room, to hear the drawers open softly, to feel something creeping up my bed. I will be held, at my mouth, on my legs, my hands, seeing a dead man in hunger for my blood, and a lady who will come out of my closet, to cut me, and finally feed on me.
I have to stop reading this blog. But nothing's gonna change if I do?! It will happen anyway. But I have no choice but to stop reading, because the blog has ended. The ghosts are making their move on me now.
Tuesday, July 19, 2005
Bloggers 'Dying'
*In memories of three blogger friends and two blogger strangers*
Without needing to name some bloggers in particular, I have noticed that since I started blogging, a number of blogger friends (as well as non-friends) have stopped blogging. It's sad that freedom of speech need to be stopped, just because sometimes we write about things we find common, but not common to our loved ones.
It's like a lie. When you start a lie, you feel guilty, and when the lie has been there for months and months, it's so natural to you that for all you know it, you blurt it out and someone who is part of that lie finds out and you're screwed. I'm not saying that they're lying, but it's the realisation that "What!? My son/daughter/dad/grandma has been doing this all along and I didn't know about it?!" and then they feel shameful, not realising that the blogger has grown up to an adult, and would have total freedom in whatever they write, as long as it is within limits of culture and law.
I am not a diary blogger, therefore the only thing that can get back at me are my opinions. So if I were to say that our PM Abdullah Badawi comes from an ancestral line of vampires from Transylvania, and I really push that opinion, then I'd see myself in jail, for faking a story (due to opinion)... and then seeing him visiting me at night and giving me a vampiric bite for revenge.
As Malaysians, though we're neighbour of Thailand and Singapore, we really do have a more closed culture compared to them. I'm not saying this is bad, but this is culture, and we better respect it. If you're not comfortable with Malaysian culture and way of thinking, then leave the country. I have my shares of being uncomfortable with it, but it doesn't disturb me much.
With that said, I think these are the boundaries of a Malaysian diary blogger. Go over these boundaries, and you'll have either friends, relatives or even the law coming after you.
Indecent Photos
A certain blogger did this, and I hope that certain blogger remove it for that certain blogger's sake. (update: the certain blogger removed it. Good on you. I don't give a damn what you do in real life, behind your blogs. But, I really don't wanna see you in trouble with the law.) I'm totally fine with it, but our law will not tolerate that, and furthermore, that certain blogger is very easily tracable. It would hurt that certain blogger's family if that certain blogger ends up in the news. Best keep photos that show skin (or other people's skin) to the bare-ness level of what your family is used to when you go out. Meaning, if your family are used to seeing you in tube and mini-skirt, post photos up to that level. If your family has only seen you in jeans and t-shirt (only baring arms, face and feet), you'd know you get in trouble if they find out about your blog wearing even something as common (to you, not to them) as spaghetti strap, what more a tube and mini.
Relationships
Best to keep relationships activities to the minimum, and only blog social aspects of the relationship. "Today we watched a movie" or "He/She gave me flowers today". We do not need to continue that story, because once it goes against culture, you're gonna get it. Let's put it simple, before you blog, imagine you reading the same on your future son/daughter's blog. How would you feel reading "He/She gave me flowers today. I was so happy I gave a kiss on the lips (whoa?). Then I pulled him/her into the house. (whoa?!). We continued kissing (whoa?!?) and he/she started necking me (whoa?!?!). Then we stopped and went up to my room. (faints)...." yeah, and you actually continued "I've never been necked before, that was the first and I told him/her that we should stop it until we're married. We then started out studying, of course with the doors open." Your parents would have stopped at (faints)... I mean, they would think "If my son/daughter already started kissing, and able to write on the blog, imagine what they DIDN'T write!". Best keep activities to a minimum. A village mother would even freak out reading her daughter holding hands in a movie theatre. Seriously, keep activities to a minimum.
Sikit-sikit Lama-lama Jadi Bukit (Little by Little, In The End A Hill)
Bad translation there, but nevermind. I do realise that eventhough I'm not writing a diary blog, anyone intending to get to know the real me would have gathered quite a lot of information. Why? Because information related to me are sprinkled all over my posts. From the way I write, to the way I express myself, to my nicknames, to my job. Simply put, with correct contacts I can easily be tracable, just need to get the list of guys who applied for Streamyx on that certain date, get a list of estate agents who does office space, scope it to KL/Selangor area, get a list of guys who applied Jaring Wireless, get a list of guys who are married and 26 years of age. You'll scope it down to 20, and then find guys who drives bla bla ... you know the rest.
BUT!!! Diary bloggers are direct! Though some of them never put in their photos, the diaries expose more of themselves without them knowing. Reading the entire blog from post one to latest post, I'm sure you can even identify where he/she lives, especially preferences!! To food. To clothes. To type of people. To products. And also, about family, about finance (veeerryy dangerous this one), and so on. Blogs are heaven for stalkers and marketers. You DON'T know who knows you!
Keep Judgement Out Of Your Post
This is very common! Even I judge a person or the government or some political figure (yes,... I just did on our PM). But we better keep judgement of people we meet out of the picture. I know I judged one of my tenant, I judged a real estate agent, and many more, but before putting it on post, I really do need to know the consequences should they read my blog. Eventhough they dunno whose blog this is, it's easily tracable larr.... "eh, this guy is talking about us, ohh.. bloody hell Mr Java!" Unless of course you know that if the dude reads it, they will be okay with it.
Imagine writing "I went out with my colleague last night, he brought along his girlfriend. She's really hot! During dinner, I noticed her touching my feet with hers, and leaving the restaurant, I excused myself to go to the toilet. My colleague said he'll just take a fag outside, but his girlfriend also needed to use the loo. And of course, his girlfriend and I really went at it. What a stupid idiot he is!" Ahhh.... while it's really amazing to many readers out there from 1 reader to 10 million reader, one human being out there better not read it!
In Conclusion
I have more to write, but I won't. It's gonna be a long post. It's not easy being a blogger. You have to jaga (take care) of so many people's feelings. From your parents, to your friends, to the country, to your officemates and to your pets (maybe this one no need). I'd like to think that if you have an open-minded parents, your blog is totally safe if they're an avid reader, and totally okay with whatever you write. You actually have all the blessings of your loved ones to blog. At least I know my wife and one sibling (whoa, an info sprinkle!) is okay with whatever I write.
In conclusion, I respect all retreating bloggers and bloggers who tutup (close) shop, because as they're matured adults to start blogging about their life, and they're matured adults to stop blogging as well! They're not paid like singers or actresses,... who are we to be unhappy with them stopping. To those who stopped, it's sad that you cannot or decided not to express yourself anymore. But everything that ends starts a new beginning. All the best!
Monday, July 18, 2005
Sleepy Post
Due to lack of sleep and a busy weekend, also because of not much work here today, I'm totally sleepy and while I have all the free time to write a post, my brains are not working well today as well. I just feel like closing my eyes and dozing off. Since I can't do that, I might as well just ramble about current happenings. I guess this will be the first post on current issues.
Harry Potter Craze
As much as I respect the writer for having such a solid fan-base, I am very amused at fans lining up from 5:10am in the morning at bookshops around the country to grab their Harry Potter latest book. I am not a Harry Potter reader, in the future maybe I will be, maybe I won't. But whatever charisma that Harry Potter has really made readers want to get the books as soon as possible, start reading it and well, I guess finish it in one to two days. And then another few months of wait. Already there's abuzz of someone dying in the book, and all spoilers coming out. So, people rush to get the book either to read it before spoilers start coming up, or they don't want the shops to run out of books. I noticed that bookstores in Malaysia did not run out of these Harry Potter books in the past, and within a month, there'll be an overstock I'm sure. That said, I guess the strongest craze in Malaysia was McDonalds bear-couple last time.
Azizi the Hero
Sad that a hero died while trying to save a total stranger. Condolense to his family. God always ask the good people to return to him. This negates any risk of them committing any evil act on purpose or accidentally in their later years. He will be amongst the ones that enter heaven first, and will wait at the gate to receive his loved ones when they too, pass away.
Luxury Items and Dead Items
These used to be luxury items, but now it's a totally common item. They are, however, still a luxury to village folks. 1) Handphone, 2) Microwave Oven, 3) Computer, 4) Vacuum Cleaner, 5) Aircond and 6) Car.
These items used to be luxury items, and then slowly becoming common item, and now dead or dying. 1) Pager, 2) Cassettes, 3) Laserdisc, 4) Piring Hitam (black music discs) and 5) Blade shaver
Mencari Cinta (Looking For Love)
TV3's new show "Mencari Cinta" is going to be a crossover between "For Love or Money" and "My Fat Obnoxious Fiance". Ten men (already nine now) will try to see if they can find love in one girl. Slowly they'll be eliminated, but by the girl's family, not only the girl. Of course you don't expect to see hot scenes like "For Love or Money" lah. This show targets malay audiences, and I foresee that as Malaysians, though they might make a fool of themselves from their comments or lashes, they will all get their own fan-base, as nearly all Akademi Fantasia contestants achieve to get fan-base too.
Miss Tourism International, Kuching, Sarawak
With too many Miss
Snatch Thieves
Snatch thieves are running rampant. They used to grab and run, now they slash, grab and run. To reduce the population of snatch thieves, I implore the government to give a nice looking handbags to women of Malaysia, to first inject Antrax into it and let the women carry it around (without opening it of course). This way, then the thieve snatches it away, and open it, they die. Yay, free culling of snatch thieves.
Oil Price Rise Scare
Now is the time to get rid of your fuel-drinking cars, and make top car-makers have problems selling fuel to Malaysians. Honda, Toyota will rise, but Volvos, BMWs and Mercs might start seeing decline in market demand. It's ridiculous. In the mat salleh countries, cars are cheap, fuel is expensive. Here, cars are expensive, fuel is cheap,... but once fuel gets expensive, we get double whammy. Why do we earn like RM2,000 and buying RM70,000 cars while mat sallehs earn US$2,000 and buys only up to US$20,000 for a good-enough car?
Rise in Share Prices
While I do not get involved in buying shares for this year and maybe another two years, I have been following share market to a small degree. This is the price market for the low-income people who don't buy Maxis or Public bank, but other smaller companies. I did a review on two shares, namely Cheetah and FTEC. I believe that Cheetah has growth potential to take over sports apparel market, and FTEC has strong growth potential too due to their crazy advertising of that butterfly-shaped laptop. In my personal opinion, both Cheetah and FTEC is under-valued. And please, strong ones like Maxis might only rise up to 5% in a month. I won't touch Cheetah, but let me show you how FTEC has done.
7th June - RM0.18 ---> mid-June - RM0.215 ---> end-June - RM0.225 ---> 18th July - RM0.27.
Enough to say that's a good 50% increase. If you have bought FTEC worth RM5,000, you'd get back RM7,500 now. In my opinion, a low to medium-income person might as well go for these, than going for the RM9 - RM11 per share of Maxis or Telekom or Banks. Taking Maxis into account, on 7th June it was RM9.90 and now it's RM10.00. Whoa... big deal. You spend RM9,900, get back RM10,000 in one month, and after paying your broker, you are at a loss, not a profit.
Anyway, share market is a time game. Big spenders look for long term. I may or may not, once I start dealing with shares in the future.
Sunday, July 17, 2005
Amy Is My Wife, Fool!
This is a follow-up from yesterday's post which you should read first. A letter from Frank to me. Didn't know he exist!
Mr Javalier,
I hope you are having a good day because I'm going to ruin it for you. I don't know how you know of me, but I'm glad a good friend of mine came across your blog. Let me just set the record straight here, fool! Can I call you a fool? Coz' you certainly write like one.
Amy is my wife. You got your facts right. I'm 58 years of age and she's 23. I met her in Korea, on my business trip there. She is not someone who I picked up in a bar, in fact, she is my liason manager with my business associates there. I met her only two years ago, and not four as you stated.
I'll have you know that she is my first wife, and going to be my only wife. I married late because I'm ambitious, unlike you who seems to be jealous and spiteful over successful businessmen. I worked my a*se off since I was 18 to bring myself where I am today. I don't owe you any explanation on how I became successful because you're not worth my time. All you need to know is that I'm actually earning around US$75,000 and not US$50,000, or even US$300 which I'm sure you're earning.
Your job may be real estate, but a driver to a real estate tycoon is also in the real estate industry. Like you, I respect anyone with a job, but I think you're deliberately misleading your readers to think that you're some highly macho mighty guy who's big in real estate. Get real, if you're successful, you would have written more on investment properties, construction projects, than how to buy a house.
I got married only after I'm pleased and contented with my success, hence the huge difference between my age and Amy's. Fool, you judged us just from a few moments of noticing us? What a jerk. How lame can anyone be? Pick a book, learn, not everything you see is as you judge. I hope you can be a better man, fool, than some cheap a*s who's trying to write negatively about other people. Continue this, and you will find friends deserting you in a split second.
I have nothing more to say.
Frank Kennyshort, NY
Friday, July 15, 2005
Wait Ah, I Wanna Drop My Passenger
Thanx to those who commented yesterday. Nice to know I do have some returning visitors... aghh... nose walls stretching! Pain! You're right, it's easy just to write something, not easy to make it interesting. Anyway, I'm not pushing myself to write something everyday, unless something interesting (at least to me) happens.
Now, this morning while traversing my usual road, it takes me longer to reach than usual, eventhough I left earlier!! It's the "Wait ah, I drop my passenger" syndrome. I understand that Kelana Jaya LRT seems to be the busiest drop-off point, but this is NOT the Kelana LRT, instead it's the one nearby Jalan Raja Chulan where there's no in-curve for cars to move in. So okay, I totally understand as a citizen of this country that you need to drop off your children, wife, husband, girlfriend, boyfriend, mistress, master (?!) and buddies. I totally can understand if you stop at the left lane (of three lanes) to drop-off. But I totally don't understand some cars that stops three cars from the left (triple-stopping), spend some 20 seconds saying bye bye, kissy kissy and then open door, yak a bit more, and then close door, see your drop-off reach safely to the pavement and then go off. It takes 1 minute per car. And when there's about 3-4 cars doing the same thing, it can really get sickening to wait.
Ahh... seriously, it's okay to see them drop off children. But I think girlfriends or other adults should do it fast. Kiss the hands, or the forehead, open door, and leave.
Leaving that story aside, most Malaysians and I have to include myself in, hahaha... tend to have this mentality of "bang me if you dare lah" when crossing the roads, and especially pasar malam (night market) time!! Most night markets will take up one side of the road in areas where there's either three lanes, or two uni-directional lanes. Some real good pasar malam traders takes up only half of the lane so that their customers can stand on the other half and allow cars to go through.
But ya lah... in between looking at things, we wanna walk at a clearing, which usually will be the other lane where cars need to go by. Take a stopwatch, and time yourself cycling from one end of a pasar malam stretch, against a car doing the same thing. I think if you have a running race with the car, you'll whoop the car's ass... not, boot upside down. Sigh... Malaysians..., when will I ever change. :P
Among the worst habit, this one at least I don't do, is to signal way last minute!! Those that I have experienced include, one dude coming out of the junction, being the good citizen that I am (oi, don't puke lah!!) I allowed him to come out, just to see him straight away stop his car and got down to go to the bank. This is on Jalan Pudu where traffic is heavy on two lanes, and he nicely park his car on one side. Not only that, he does not enter the bank until he sees the car behind his (mine) goes away leaving his car safe after honking at him. My wife will probably laugh reading this as she was in the car as well.
Another one is the (you all sure kena this before!) following a car that suddenly decides to slow down a little, and then signal left and comes to a complete stop on the left lane (not even pushing the car to the curb) and decides to wait for whoever he's waiting for.... and you don't see anyone coming towards the car. To 'show' that the driver is really trying to hurry (and making you think that he's hurrying), one or two gestures will come out. Either the dude/ette will start stretching the head looking out the left window, OR, picks up the handphone to call someone. Most drivers behind this type of cars will already start cutting to the right and leave the place. Same with me, and I never really got to find out the average time it takes before the car finally picks up the passenger.
Another area very famous for slowing down of cars down to 20-30kmh is at Sungai Besi entering KL. Near the turn-off to Jalan Istana, in the evenings, you'll nearly always see two policeman standing at the side of the road, practically doing nothing but staring out. We're used to seeing jakun (as if never seen something like that before) drivers who slows down to take 4D during accidents, but, these are drivers who thinks there's something up,... aiya... got police mah, sure got something, and slows down to look. They're either thinking "What's happen?" or "Wah, men in uniform. Sluurrpp!" (for gays or women).
Reason I wrote this today is not really that I'm urinated (a.k.a. pissed) at what happened this morning. I found it amusing. Though I was used to Kelana Jaya having triple-stopped people, triple-stopping on a busy road is not a good way to drop passengers. You get real angry bus drivers honking away.
If you are ever in the vicinity of Jalan Sultan Ismail on a busy evening, keep a lookout for waiters! Ya!! Really!!! Traffic policeman, sometimes up to eight of them on every curb after the traffic lights with the summons book in their hands waiting for cars to beat red lights or cutting illegally and then stop these drivers to contribute to more traffic jams, as well as allowing the driver to contribute to police economy. Damn, I wish I can get pictures of those people.
Thursday, July 14, 2005
365 New Things In A Year
What if I were to write this blog as a diary? I think I can hit that 365 entries in a year quota for strict bloggers. My blog diary, in trying to also hide my identity would probably sound like below.
===================
bla bla date, bla bla day
Dear online diary, today I left home at 8:00am. I reached work at Menara Maxis at 8:30pm, and while pressing the lift to go to the 9th floor, I met Aminah. I remembered bumping into her just two days ago when I didn't realise she was standing behind me while I was reversing my car. Ah-Tan greeted me "good morning" just as I entered the office.
At lunch, we ate at KLCC, had fried mee and kiwi juice. Jason wanted to eat Kuey Teow, but with his chinese accent, the shop "Teoh Cookeries" gave him Kuih instead. Poor him. Oh, and Marissa's colour combination were totally off! Dark green and pink doesn't match!! How can she wears dark green dress and drinks sirap bandung??! What a fashion disgrace! She should drink kiwi juice like me, then ngam.
Boss called me to his office, asked me to deliver payment to Nia Seng Lu Sdn Bhd. Wah... the cheque was RM315,000!! What the heck he buy lah? Car ah? Girl ah? Got Mercedes CLK of course can afford this kind of stuff lah. Anyway, delivered cheque, and on the way back, it was raining, so had to drive slowly. Left work and reach home late, coz' the traffic light at the Atria Damansara area spoilt.
*Because this is an anonymous blog, names have been changed to protect identity. Time leaving and arriving workplace was changed to protect my working hours. Office floor and building name also changed to protect my career. Food and drinks were changed to protect my personal food preference. Also, cheque amount was change to protect business success, and boss's car was changed to protect boss. Traffic light location also changed to protect where I live. Company receiving cheque was changed to protect that company. Weather condition was changed to protect climate. Lastly, my transportation was changed to protect how I travel. Where I ate also changed to protect location of lunch. Basically everything changed lah. Kan senang!*
======================
With diaries like this, I myself won't understand what the heck I went through during the day. Might as well no need to write anything. Or... write like this....
======================
Some date, some day
Dear online diary, today I left someplace at sometime. I reached work at someplace at sometime, and while doing something to go to the someplace, I met someone. I remembered something happening with someone sometime ago. Someone greeted me something just as I did something at someplace.
At sometime, we did something at someplace, had something and something. Someone wanted to do something, but due to some problem, the someplace gave some other thing instead. Poor someone. Oh, and someone's something were totally something! Something and something doesn't match!! How can someone do something with something??! What a something! Someone should do something like me.
===================
Wah leh, damn sucky diary.
Wednesday, July 13, 2005
Things I Should Throw Away, But Still Keep
They're happy with a kancil for family car, and almost any other time that they want to travel it'll be on a motorcycle. Anyway, as much as I'd like to indulge on how serene their life is, I'm talking on things that I'd like to throw away but cannot. Give away can lah, but some cannot be given away in public. Hehe... we shall see.
Books!!
Since I'm talking about book cabinet in kampung house, surely this will come up. I believe self-improvement books like "How To Be Rich In 5 Weeks" or "Teaching Series: Flying A Helicopter" or "Sneeze Right For My Type" can still be useful for children along generations to come. But story books, such as that you enjoy, well, let's just say I have up to 20 or more story books, which are good, but most of them will be read only once. Family members are not interested in those kind of stories, so the books just sit there, taking warehouse space in which I should charge rental. Aih... real estate mentality.
If I were to sieve (is it the correct spelling? It's I before E, except after C. Ok, should be correct liao.) the books, I would be able to KNOW which books I know I won't read anymore. I'd give them away to friends or relatives, but then, sometimes you have these emotional attachments to the story, that it's difficult to let go. It's the same emotional attachment that made me still keep the Add Maths book of secondary school. Hey, I have MANY friends who keeps that Add Maths book (thick red coloured one). How to let go lar?
Kampung people buys magazine, in within two weeks, after everyone is satisfied reading it, burn the mags. As much as I'd like to do the same thing, again... it's like "I paid RM10 for that, why throw away??" At least now I've cut my magazines purchase from 4 mags per month to 1 mag per month, and that mag has only 4 months shelf-life. Whatever that's more than four month's old, will be given/thrown away. Yay, so there, I'm cured from mag madness, but books?!? I'm sure many out there have recipe books that weights a ton if put together. How many of these books are opened at least once in the past 5 years?! Sigh... story books will be the same. We buy more books, read them, then keep them, then buy some more. Need to find a cure... B-Virus crawling in my skin, these wounds they will not heal.
VCDs/DVDs!!
My original VCDs and DVDs, eh, what?! Original lah!! Really! I originally bought it, with original money. If I want to buy fake stuff, might as well use fake money right?? Haiya, use your logic lah.
Anyway, if we go to the movies, for two persons, it would cost about RM16 and for a whole family, let's put it 5 people lah, it'll cost RM40. Due to that, most people just opt for that super expensive DVDs that's sold widely at RM80 was it? Or RM100++?? I don't have my receipt, but I think it's RM80 for DVD5 and RM150 for DVD9. :D Help me out here people, using your brains, you'd know what I'm talking about. So anyway, leaving the damn-expensive-how-to-afford-lah price of the DVDs, we'll go to "why keep it?"
There are some shows that are good to keep, especially cartoons. I have relatives' and friends' children watching and rewatching Toy Story, Toy Story 2, The Incredibles, Shrek, Shrek 2, and many others to no ends. Everyday must see. I myself have some non-cartoon shows that I watch several times. Umm.. wait, when I say non-cartoon, I'm talking about real movies, not Triple-X. No, not the one Vin Diesel acts in, the other Triple-X,... ya, Gin Petrol acts it.
These shows (for me lah) are the likes of Braveheart, Se7en, Armageddon, and a few other good movies lah. Teenage horror movies like Scream series, Dead End, Wrong Turn, I Know What You Did series, and all those shows that reminds you so much of the malay nursery rhyme "Sepuluh Budak Hitam" where one by one people die,.... these shows deserve only ONE single viewing. There are good horror shows that can be watched maybe up to another 4-5 times such as Nang-Nak, The Eye, but most of them don't deserved second viewing.
Sorry to say, even top shows like Godzilla, Spiderman, Legally Blonde, Bourne Identity, Sum Of All Fears, I.Robot (trying to cover all spectrum here) are good for one viewing only. So, what does this say?? I believe I have over 150 DVDs, yeah... I rich hoh? 150 DVDs x RM80 = ??? This would say that I will probably never again touch up to 120 of them! Feels like throwing them away, and I think I will. It's really taking up too much space in the house. Well, not really... but it is clutter. Sometimes I think it's just better to enjoy good image and sound of the cinema, than buying DVDs, but then again, you THINK you spend only RM16 on cinema. But counting parking = RM1 to RM15 (1 Utama rate to KLCC rate), counting lunch before the cinema starts = RM15 for two people, counting the snacks you'd be bringing to the cinema = RM10, petrol, shoes depreciation coz of friction with the floor, shirt depreciation coz of friction against the wind, well, you know what I mean. But ya lah, if you're spending time with a loved one, it's worth it.
Well well, I believed I've slowly swaying away from topic. Okay, cut the story short.
Cups and Glasses!!
In many households, even in kampung, we have WAY too many glasses! Yes, they can be used for parties, but parties it's easier just to get paper cups. Too many companies giving free glasses as promotion!
Old garments!!
I know that at least 30% to 50% of what I have I will not wear in 5 years. Heck, at least 20% of what I have I've not worn in the past 5 years!
Hm.... for me, that's the list. I'm quite sure some other guys have problems with having over 50 ties, and at least 15 not worn in the past 2 years... and girls with over 50 shoes, with at least 15 not worn in the past 2 years. I iterate between 4 ties only, as long as my colleages don't say "Same tie again and again ah?" I don't think I'll purchase anymore. And I iterate between 2 working shoes only, men don't need shoes to match, happy for that.
As much as I sound spoilt having so many things to get rid off, as compared to those under-financed citizens of Malaysia (which I have full respect for), admit it, most urban folks are facing the same thing I'm facing.
What's your "need to throw, but cannot" list like?
Tuesday, July 12, 2005
Real Story Behind Woman Who Floats
This is about yesterday's post, on the pakcik seeing the woman who floated. Credit goes out to M.A., a colleague of mine from 1998-2000 who experienced first-hand seeing a woman float. I've used his story as an inspiration for the Pakcik's story. The real story told to me was like this....
MA was actually with seven other friends, in two cars travelling on the trunk road in the east coast of Peninsular Malaysia. Travelling at nights with very light traffic is fine for all eight youngsters, no pressure to reach destination early, no problem cracking the vilest of jokes amongst guys. It was about half past 1am at that time.
What happened was they really got stopped by a woman. The woman frantically ran out of the forest area, waved at them to stop and they did. All eight got out of the car, the woman shouted asking them to help her. Her house really is on fire, but when they asked where, she pointed into the forest. Now, this is NOT an estate site, and is really a forest area. As she called them to help her and pointing into the forest, one of MA's friend told everyone that something is not right and asked all to enter the car.
So all did. She was still calling them, exactly as in my Pakcik story, moving backwards and slowly floating up the trees as she says "Marilah, bang. Tolonglah, bang." (trans: "Come, sir. Help, sir."). They couldn't start the car so all prayed inside. Then they heard her shrill laughter from her and seeing her sitting at one of the top branch of the trees. That time they managed to start the car and left. Two fell sick with fever.
Simple story, no gory scenes. No spice too. So, let's add spice. Hahaha... just for the fun of it.
Rewind true story.... Re-write fake story.....
MA was travelling with three other friends in two cars. Reason for this is they wanna reach Terengganu, meet up with some other friends and in two days drive to KL altogether, all seven of them. So, MA was with his friend Hakim, the other two Fuad and Jamal was in the other car.
The time was about 1:30am or so, from Pahang driving up to Terengganu, they passed by some forest and suddenly got stopped by a malay woman. Looks ok, quite pretty. She was panicking, asking for help. Pointing into the forest she asked them to help her. Feeling something not right, Fuad asked everyone to get into the car. So they all did. Said some prayers, while looking at this girl suddenly backing slowly into the forest, and floating.
MA knew what's gonna happen next. This is pontianak, the woman will start to have a shrill laugh soon enough. So, while she's reaching halfway up the trees, MA refused to look at her already, and just laid his eyes on the dashboard while trying to start the car. The shrill laughter came, but not as he expected. It came directly from his left, he turned and Hakim was no longer there. It was the woman, now horribly disfigured, white long hair and with eyes bulging and from a face of pure skeleton and skin.
MA shouted and got out of the car, only to hear Hakim screaming. Hakim is now slowly floating up the trees in place of the woman, while the woman inside the car spoke in Hakim's voice "MA, get in the car! Quick!" MA looked back, Fuad and Jamal frantically waving to MA to get into the car. MA looked back into the car, Hakim is there now. He turned around to the trees and sees the woman there. She spoke to him, "You made a mistake coming out of the car. Do not blink your eyes, because if you do, you need to be careful of your feet!".
MA got frightened from her sight so he closed his eyes and reached back for his car door, only this time it felt like wood. He felt light. He opened his eyes and looked down. As ridiculous as it seems to him, he's now on the tree branch, wearing white gown and having long hair. He looked down, sees himself get into the car, and both cars drove off. He shouted for them, they looked up at him and shouted while trying to drive as fast as possible.
In Fuad's eyes, it was the woman leaping down to them and floating beside their car smiling. In MA's eyes, Fuad was driving fast, with Jamal looking out the window at him looking very frightened. Then MA got pulled back. He's back on the tree, seeing the cars go off into the distance.
Upon reaching a petrol kiosk, Hakim asked to drive, to relief MA from his shock, and he did drive until the about 3am. While he was busy talking to MA in the car, and getting lack of response, he turned to his left. No one was in the car. MA was gone. He stopped, Fuad and Jamal stopped as well, asking where MA is. All were totally dumbfounded. They traced their way back to the petrol station, there was no sign of MA. They decided to leave one car there and drove back to where they first spotted the ghost.
Reaching there, they found MA on the ground. Unconscious. Something is looking at them from the trees. When they looked up, they can see MA, smiling at them. They quickly got the unconscious MA into the car. There's two cars coming from a distance, at least there are more people now. They didn't wait for the cars to reach them, and instead, drove on.
Looking back in the rear view mirror, they saw both cars stopped, 4 women got out and MA frantically waving at them pointing into the forest.
......
What happened then???
These 4 women were entrepreneurs. They managed to convince MA to turn back into the woman, to stop her stupid hauntings that brings no benefit, and decided to make a tourist attraction at that forest location. The pontianak gets 50% of all t-shirt products, phototaking and storybook/movie royalties and donates 80% of her own profits to the the local Heart Foundation. How compassionate of her.
Below is a picture of a tourist with the pontianak. The tourist is NOT ME!!
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Walau-eh.... costs RM15 just to take picture with this pontianak. So damn expensive liao. But only one place in Malaysia you can meet this pontianak mah, even KLCC don't have. So, considered okaylah.
*Photo courtesy from Paolo Attivissimo's website*
